Writing updates

Hello readers,

It has been a long time since I updated you on the progress of my projects. Here is the latest on what I’ve been up to and what I’m planning for this summer. I don’t recall which projects I’ve talked about already, so there may be new projects in this update!

“The Honeymoon”

This is a working title. I am 2/3 of the way through my proofreaders notes. Which means that I’ve gone through 2 of the 3 copies. I am currently working on the third one. Ideas for what I can do to improve this piece are coming every day. Today I ran out of those posted note tabs, so progress halted until I can acquire more! I have big plans for two minor characters and I’m considering taking the draft copy and throwing it up in the air. That process could prove interesting to the overall story.

“Dreams Change Lives”

Still in the proofing stage. I need to find one of my proofreaders and see how far she is in the process. Hopefully she hasn’t lost it. No real news for this one, but I can’t wait to get started on the editing and revising of this story.

“A Walker’s Destiny”

This one, I had a major epiphany on the other day. I don’t know how I didn’t see this before. I’m contemplating changing the narrative to a single character so we can see the world through her eyes. I also need to talk with my proofreaders to see how far they are in reading the story.

“Moving Out”

I wrote this one for my fiction writing class this past semester. The idea was to see if I could create a literary world without writing to a specific genre and then after the semester was over to change elements to fit the genre of Science Fiction/Fantasy. It was supposed to be a short story, with the intent to make it a larger work. I just don’t know how to write short stories! Haha! Novellas I can write, short stories are more difficult. Anyway, this story centers around Melody, a young girl who is moving out of her mom’s apartment and going off to college (this was the basis of the short story). In the novel, I am going to write she will be an alien who wants to know about her Earthling father, who just happens to be a witch (wizard, warlock, what-have-you…haven’t decided the terminology yet). So, she is part Alien, part Witch. Fun times ahead, right?? Should be. I am taking inspiration from Charmed and Superman, which you will see throughout the story.

I am just going to let this one sit on my jump drive for a little while though. I thought I would let you know that my creative juices haven’t stopped flowing. I have been busy with school (hopefully I only have 2 years left! yay!) and the kiddo!

Thank you readers! Have a great day!

Sandy

 

Leave a comment